Easy Document Signer Documentation
Space shortcuts
Space Tools
Easy Document Signer Documentation PEDSDOC
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata





Documentation for Easy Document Signer Version 0.9
Documentation for earlier versions of Easy Document Signer is available too.

 

 

Content


Easy Document Signer (EDS) - Lock / Unlock Document


 Behaviour

Questions / Cases

Description

BASICS

What is an EDS-Document?

You can find the detailed explanation here - see Terminology Term 2.
When is the EDS-Document locked?The EDS-Document is locked after all related Buttons are signed.
What are EDS-Document related Buttons?The EDS-Document related Buttons are Buttons that are set on the EDS-Rootpage and define the start of the EDS-Document.
What is an EDS-Rootpage?You can find the detailed explanation here - see Terminology Term 3.
LOCK / UNLOCK DOCUMENT
What does it mean when the EDS-Document is locked?It means that no user or group have permission to edit the EDS-Document. The EDS-Rootpage and the related page hierarchy is locked and has no editing capabilities. It's almost the same as signed paper contracts or other documents that is archived or frozen.
When is the EDS-Document locked?The EDS-Document is locked after all related Buttons are signed.
When is the unlock option available?After the document is locked i.e. after all EDS-Document related Buttons are signed.
Who has permission to unlock a document?User / Group permissions for unlocking documents can be specified in the Global Configuration section. It can be set for the whole instance of Confluence, or can be set in the Space Configuration section specifically for Spaces. Users who are specified in the Global Configuration section, can unlock documents in any Space.
Where can I find this option?

Just the user / group who has permission to unlock a document are able to see this option. This option can be found in the menu list of Confluence (as shown in the screenshot below):

What happens after the unlock document option is activated?The EDS-Document is unlocked, which means that every EDS-Document related Button returns to the unsigned status, and the user edit- and view permissions are reconstructed.
DOCUMENT MODIFICATIONS / MANIPULATIONS AFTER THE EDS-DOCUMENT IS LOCKED
It's necessary to set the History Macro in order for you to control all modifications that have been made after the EDS-Document is locked.
Behaviour of the EDS-Plugin after execution of the following user-actions (most listed actions can only be executed by users / groups with admin permissions):

User Action

EDS-Document Behaviour

Description of the specific user action

Delete pageDocument unlockedThe document will automatically be unlocked after deleting any page that belongs to the locked EDS-Document hierarchy.
Create new page

Document is still locked

Warning with the list of appended pages appears in the History Table heading

The document will still be locked after creating a new page in the locked EDS-Document hierarchy. A warning will appear in the History Table heading (View History Macro) stating that a new page is appended.
Document is still locked

After deleting a new appended page that doesn't belong to the locked document, the document will still be locked and the warning in the History Table will disappear. This way it's possible to return to the original state of the EDS-Document. It is necessary to use the "Unlock Document" option to assimilate the new created page in the EDS-Document.

Move page


Document is still locked

Warning with the list of reordered pages appears in the History Table

The document will still be locked after moving the page within the EDS-Document hierarchy. A warning will appear in the History Table heading (View History Macro) stating that a page has been reordered.

Document is still locked

After moving the reordered page in the locked EDS-Document, the document will still be locked and the warning in the History Table will disappear. This way it's possible to return to the original state of the EDS-Document. It is necessary to use the "Unlock Document" option to assimilate the newly moved page in the EDS-Document.

Document is still locked

Warning with the list of appended pages appears in the History Table

The document will still be locked after moving a new page / page hierarchy into the EDS-Document hierarchy from another page hierarchy / Space. A warning will appear in the History Table heading (View History Macro) stating that a new page is appended. This acts in the same way as when creating a new page.

If the moved page / page hierarchy already includes an EDS-Document, then the newly moved EDS-Document will be invalid and the original EDS-Document will still be valid and locked.

Document unlocked

The document will automatically unlock after moving any page that belonged to the locked EDS-Document hierarchy into another page hierarchy / Space. This acts in the same way as when deleting a page.


  • No labels




Easy Document Signer Documentation PEDSDOC